The box of inspiration

Today I found my box of inspiration, tucked away in a forgotten cupboard gathering dust, and gradually losing its beloved adornments. I purchased this wondrous box in Australia in 1996 and it has travelled around with me to the various places I have lived since then. But, it hadn’t seen the light of day in about 4-5 years. So, what message did it have for me today?

 

 

 

Is it so small a thing to have enjoy’d the sun, To have lived light in the Spring, To have loved, to have thought, to have done? (Matthew Arnold)

 

 

 

And I wonder if these are indeed small things? To me this message speaks about ‘being’, or the importance of us to ‘be-in’ the place we are right now. I also tried an exercise today from Suzy Greaves’ book, The Big Peace: just sitting for 15 minutes, doing nothing. After the initial reluctance, then the thoughts about using the time to meditate, I found myself really listening to the sounds outside, the smell of burning from next door’s garden, the gentle breeze through the door, and then yep, promptly fell asleep. But, in that moment of being I needed the sleep – would I have given myself permission to do it without the exercise? Probably not. Does that make me sad? Maybe! But my body feels rested for my attention to ‘being’ in that moment and letting it be. Now if the rest of life could be that easy and joyful too … well, then I wouldn’t need this blog!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

